The Nobel Prize in Economics


The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel is the the most prestigious award in the field of economics. Although it was not one of the prizes established in Alfred Nobel’s will, it was established in 1968 by a donation from the Swedish National Bank and continues from this endowment. Laureates are selected by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences “in accordance with the rules governing the award of the Nobel Prizes instituted through Alfred Nobel’s will, which stipulate that the prize be awarded annually to “those who … shall have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind.”

The following is a list of Nobel Prize Winners in Economics that we currently have for sale in our inventory. This is a wonderful opportunity to hold a piece of Nobel history, particularly those books that are signed or inscribed by the Nobel laureate.

2017: Richard H. Thaler
“for his contributions to behavioural economics”

2013: Eugene F. Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert J. Shiller
“for their empirical analysis of asset prices”

2012: Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. Shapley
“for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design”

2011: Thomas J. Sargent and Christopher A. Sims
“for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy”

2010: Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissarides
“for their analysis of markets with search frictions”

2006: Edmund S. Phelps
“for his analysis of intertemporal tradeoffs in macroeconomic policy”

2005: Robert J. Aumann and Thomas C. Schelling
“for having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis”

2003: Clive W.J. Granger
“for methods of analyzing economic time series with common trends (cointegration)”

2002: Vernon L. Smith
“for having established laboratory experiments as a tool in empirical economic analysis, especially in the study of alternative market mechanisms”

2001: George A. Akerlof, A. Michael Spence and Joseph E. Stiglitz
“for their analyses of markets with asymmetric information”

1998: Amartya Sen
“for his contributions to welfare economics”

1997: Robert C. Merton and Myron S. Scholes
“for a new method to determine the value of derivatives”

1996: James A. Mirrlees and William Vickrey
“for their fundamental contributions to the economic theory of incentives under asymmetric information”

1994: John C. Harsanyi, John F. Nash Jr. and Reinhard Selten
“for their pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games”

1993: Robert W. Fogel and Douglass C. North
“for having renewed research in economic history by applying economic theory and quantitative methods in order to explain economic and institutional change”

1992: Gary S. Becker
“for having extended the domain of microeconomic analysis to a wide range of human behaviour and interaction, including nonmarket behaviour”

1991: Ronald H. Coase
“for his discovery and clarification of the significance of transaction costs and property rights for the institutional structure and functioning of the economy”

1990: Harry M. Markowitz, Merton H. Miller and William F. Sharpe
“for their pioneering work in the theory of financial economics”

1988: Maurice Allais
“for his pioneering contributions to the theory of markets and efficient utilization of resources”

1987: Robert M. Solow
“for his contributions to the theory of economic growth”

1986: James M. Buchanan Jr.
“for his development of the contractual and constitutional bases for the theory of economic and political decision-making”

1985: Franco Modigliani
“for his pioneering analyses of saving and of financial markets”

1983: Gerard Debreu
“for having incorporated new analytical methods into economic theory and for his rigorous reformulation of the theory of general equilibrium”

1982: George J. Stigler
“for his seminal studies of industrial structures, functioning of markets and causes and effects of public regulation”

1980: Lawrence R. Klein
“for the creation of econometric models and the application to the analysis of economic fluctuations and economic policies”

1978: Herbert A. Simon
“for his pioneering research into the decision-making process within economic organizations”

1976: Milton Friedman
“for his achievements in the fields of consumption analysis, monetary history and theory and for his demonstration of the complexity of stabilization policy”

1974: Gunnar Myrdal and Friedrich August von Hayek
“for their pioneering work in the theory of money and economic fluctuations and for their penetrating analysis of the interdependence of economic, social and institutional phenomena”

1973: Wassily Leontief
“for the development of the input-output method and for its application to important economic problems”

1972: John R. Hicks and Kenneth J. Arrow
“for their pioneering contributions to general economic equilibrium theory and welfare theory”

1971: Simon Kuznets
“for his empirically founded interpretation of economic growth which has led to new and deepened insight into the economic and social structure and process of development”

1970: Paul A. Samuelson
“for the scientific work through which he has developed static and dynamic economic theory and actively contributed to raising the level of analysis in economic science”

1969: Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen
“for having developed and applied dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes”

Malcare WordPress Security