The Tin Drum, Cat and Mouse, Dog Years.

“Today I know that all things are watching, that nothing goes unseen": First Editions of Gunter Grass' Acclaimed Danzig Trilogy; Each signed by Him

The Tin Drum, Cat and Mouse, Dog Years.

GRASS, Gunter.


Item Number: 48795

New York: Pantheon, 1962-1965.

First American editions of the author’s classic Danzig Trilogy. Octavo, 3 volumes, original cloth. Each work is signed by Gunter Grass on the title page. Each are fine in near fine dust jackets. Dog Years is a review copy, with the slip laid in. Translated by Ralph Manheim. A very sharp set.

The Danzig Trilogy begins with the story of Oskar Matzerath and his determination to remain a child. He refuses to speak, only banging on his drum. The surreal chronology and characters give a nerve-wracking description of life under Nazi rule in World War II, and finally to postwar Germany in the 1950's. In 1979, The Tin Drum was adapted into a film which won the Palme d'Or, and the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film.

Add to cart Ask a Question SHIPPING & GUARANTEE
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!