Starved Rock.

"Fly over the valley when the winds are keen, and nestle where the earth receives another generation of exhausted leaves": First edition of Edgar Lee Masters' Starved Rock

Starved Rock.

MASTERS, Edgar Lee.


Item Number: 96230

New York: The Macmillan Company, 1919.

First edition of the this early collection of poetry. Octavo, original cloth. Inadvertently inscribed on the final free endpaper, “For S.D. Green…Edgar Lee Masters.” In very good condition.

American attorney, poet, and dramatist Edgar Lee Masters published twelve plays, twenty-one books of poetry, six novels and six biographies, including those of Abraham Lincoln, Mark Twain, Vachel Lindsay, and Walt Whitman. Masters was awarded the Mark Twain Silver Medal in 1936, the Poetry Society of America medal in 1941, the Academy of American Poets Fellowship in 1942, and the Shelly Memorial Award in 1944. In 2014, he was inducted into the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame.

Add to cart Ask a Question SHIPPING & GUARANTEE