"I had forgotten how much light there is in the world, till you gave it back to me": First Editions of Each of Book in Ursula Le Guin’s The Wizard of Earthsea Trilogy; Each Volume Signed by Her

  • The Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, The Farthest Shore

The Wizard of Earthsea, The Tombs of Atuan, The Farthest Shore.

Item Number: 1339

Parnassus, 1968-1972..

First editions, first printings of each of the three novels in the author’s acclaimed Wizard of Earthsea triology. Octavo, 3 volumes. Each copy is signed by Ursula Le Guin. The Wizard of Earthsea is the true first edition with the publisher’s faint vertical smudge running through the R in “Wizard” on the title page; that continues through the round symbol and into the second U in “Ursula” below, ending at the I in “drawings.” The Tombs of Atuan is near fine in a near fine dust jacket. The Farthest Shore is fine in a near fine dust jacket. A very sharp set.

The Earthsea Trilogy, set in the archipelago of Earthsea, tells the story of Ged, a wizard's apprentice at a school of wizardry. Just as LeGuin was seemingly inspired by Tolkien, J.K. Rowling must have been influenced by this beautiful epic fantasy. Each book in the trilogy is an award winner. The Wizard of Earthsea received a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award in 1969 and a Lewis Carroll Shelf Award in 1979. The Tombs of Atuan was a 1972 Newbery Honor Book, and the Farthest Shore received a National Book Award in 1973.